U.S. Delegation Traveling to Havana with Kerry Announced

HAVANA, Cuba, Puig 13 (acn) Nineteen personalities of the US policy and government will accompany Secretary of State John Kerry for the official opening ceremony of the U.S. Embassy in Havana, scheduled for August 14, according to a communiqué issued by the Press Department of the State Department.

The last secretary of state that visited the island was Edward Stettinius Reilley -in the post during the administrations of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman-, in March 1945.
On 20 July the two countries formally resumed diplomatic relations, broken off by the U.S. in 1961. Starting from that day, the Cuban flag flies on the island’s embassy in Washington, hoisted in a solemn ceremony by Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez.

The list consists of:

1. John Kerry, Secretary of State
2. Bruce Andrews, Deputy Secretary of Commerce
3. Karen Bass, Representative of Congress
4. Sarah Bloom Raskin, Deputy Secretary of the Treasury
5. Barbara Boxer, Senator
6. Steve Cohen, Representative of Congress
7. Marcos Feierstein, Chief Director of National Security Council
8. Jonathan Finer, Chief of Staff of the Secretary of State
9. Jeff Flake, Senator
10. Roberta Jacobson, Assistant Secretary for Western Hemisphere Affairs
11. John Kirby, Spokesman for the State Department
12. Amy Klobuchar, Senator
13. Patrick Leahy, Senator
14. Barbara Lee, Representative of the Congress
15. Tom Malinowski, Assistant Secretary for the Bureau of Democracy, Human
Rights and Labor
16. Jim McGovern, Congressional representative
17. David McKean, Director of the Office of Policy Planning
18. Peter Selfridge, Head of the Protocol Office
19. David Thorne, Senior Advisor to the Secretary of State
20. Kurt Tidd, Assistant Chief of the Joint Staff.

August 13, 2015

This entry was posted in Exchanges. Bookmark the permalink.