Lost&Found, New Buena Vista Social Club CD

omara-eliades[1]Havana, Feb 27 (Prensa Latina) Cuban traditional music group Buena Vista Social Club will launchu in March its new album Lost&Found, which could be the last one of the project, its members said. Lost&Found is a compilation of unreleased songs recorded throughout almost two decades since the founding of the group in 1996, when producer Ry Cooder gathered glories of Cuban music and recorded a CD becoming a musical phenomenon, as well as the documentary Wim Wenders produced about them.

The official launching of the album will be on March 23 and includes songs such as “Macusa,” “Como fue, Bruca Manigua, Quiéreme mucho (Love Me a Lot) and the emblematic Lágrimas negras (Black Tears), banner of the Buena Vista Social Club wherever it performs, always sung by Omara Portuondo, diva of the project.

The selected repertoire includes contributions from former members who have died but left an indelible mark, such as Francisco Repilado (Compay Segundo), Ibrahim Ferrer and Ruben Gonzalez, among others.

For Eliades Ochoa, founding member of the project, “Buena Vista paved the way to many Cuban musicians, World Circuit Records expected the exact time to make this collection. We are not the ones who are going to say good-bye, perhaps the project itself, but we as musicians will not do it.”

Jesus ‘Aguaje’ Ramos, current director of the group, expressed the desire of the group members to tour Cuba, as so far the international profile the project has achieved has not been fully enjoyed by the Cuban public in general, he said.

Next, the list of the tracks of Lost&Found

1- Bruca Manigua
2- Macusa
3- Tiene Sabor
4- Bodas de oro
5- Black chicken 37
6- Habanera
7- Como fue
8- Guajira con F
9- Quiéreme mucho
10- Pedacito de papel
11- Mami me gusto
12- Lágrimas negras
13- Como siento yo
14- Rubén sings!

This entry was posted in Cultural. Bookmark the permalink.