Cuba announces baseball team for Premier 12 tournament

e213ad1da93d758f35a1d78751243806_LCuba announced the roster of the team that will participate in the World Baseball Championship Premier 12, called from November 8 to 21 in several cities of Taipei China and Japan.

Coached by Victor Mesa, the squad is made up by three catchers, seven infielders, five outfielders and 13 pitchers, and five athletes that will be in reserve, the National Baseball Commission said in a press note.

Osvaldo Vazquez, Yosvani Alarcon and Frank Camilo Morejón will be behind the plate, while Yasiel Santoya, Alexander Malleta, Yorbis Borroto, Yordan Manduley, Yurisbel Gracial, Yulieski Gourriel and Rudy Reyes will defend the infield.

The slugger Alfredo Despaigne, who is currently involved in the postseason of the Japanese professional circuit, highlights in the outfield, which also includes Julio Pablo Martinez, Styler Hernandez, Lourdes Y. Gourriel and Yunieski Gourriel.

Finally , the pitching staff is made up by Yosvani Torres, Yoanni Yera (L), Danny Betancourt, Freddy Asiel Alvarez, Frank Monthiet, Alberto Bicet, Yoalkis Cruz, Jonder Martínez, Norberto Gonzalez (L), Livan Moinelo (L), Yunier Cano, Jose Angel Garcia and Hector Manuel Mendoza.

These players will be training from October 28 at Latinoamericano stadium in Havana, and later they will travel to South Korea to play a match with the team of that country.

The note adds that the pre-match preparation will include five reserve players that are the catcher Yulexis La Rosa, infielders Guillermo Aviles and Yunior Paumier, along with pitchers Miguel Lahera and Yadier Hechavarría.
Besides Victor Mesa, the coaching staff also includes coaches Alexander Ramos and Lazaro Lopez, pitching coaches Rogelio García and Raciel Sánchez Echeverria, besides the physical trainer Victor Figueroa.

Cuba will debut in the World Baseball Championship Premier 12 on November 10 against Canada, in match corresponding to group A, and then will face Netherlands, Puerto Rico, the host Taipei China and Italy.

The demanding Poole B includes Japan and USA, 1st and 2 nd in that order of the world ranking, plus Dominican Republic -WBC 2013 monarch-, South Korea, Mexico and Venezuela.

The first four teams in each group will advance to the quarterfinals, agreed for November 16, while the semifinals will take place on days 19th and 20th at the legendary stadium Tokyo Dome in the Japanese capital, where it will also take place the final a day later.

The first edition of this event will be attended by the 12 best ranked teams in the global list, and is organized by the World Federation of Baseball and Softball.

This entry was posted in Cultural. Bookmark the permalink.