Cuban president congratulates CARICOM on 47th anniversary

Havana, Jul 5 (Prensa Latina) Cuba’s President Miguel Diaz-Canel sent a message of congratulations and appreciation to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) on the occasion of its 47th anniversary.

The Caribbean Community was created on July 4th, 1973, with the signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas, Trinidad and Tobago, to transform the Caribbean Free Trade Association into a Common Market.

The group is made up of 15 member states and five associates from The Bahamas, in the north, to Suriname and Guyana, in South America, with great diversity in their levels of economic and social development.

The secretary general of the bloc, Irwin LaRocque, issued a communiqué on Saturday recognizing the capacity of resistance of the peoples in the confrontation with the coronavirus, and lamenting the loss of human lives.

In his message for the commemoration, LaRocque highlighted the integration of Caribbean institutions that have allowed an effective management against the disease by implementing policies and programs agreed by the heads of government and the various ministerial councils.

For his part, the Cuban Foreign Minister, Bruno Rodriguez, greeted the anniversary and evoked Fidel Castro’s ideas about the need to strengthen the unity of the Caribbean region.


This entry was posted in Exchanges. Bookmark the permalink.